1. Open and edit the document in SharePoint document library.
Or directly click the document, and select Edit.
2. If other people is editing at the same time, you will be able to see who that is.
3. When you are editing the document, you will see dotted line around the paragraph you are editing. The dotted line means you have locked this paragraph. Other people cannot change it.
4. At the same time, other editors will see you are working on that paragraph are quoted with a hard line. And they cannot change it. But the other parts of the documents can be changed.
5. The normal save button is now “Save and Update any changes from other authors”.
If other people saved their changes, you will see icon at the status bar below.
After you have clicked the save button, you will see other peoples changes highlighted in light green.
6. If you want to lock a part of the document before you start editing, you can select the part you want to lock, and then click “Block Authors” button.
After you have done, you can release the block.
7. In extreme scenarios, both authors chosen the same paragraph to edit, the last person trying to save will have to merge the changes.
You may do the following to merge.
1. Copy and Paste your own changes to another word document or notepad.
2. Click Save and Update button on the document and select “Reject my changes”. This way you will get other people’s change displayed in your Word.
3. Merge the changes, and then save again.
· If you do not want other people to change this document at the same time with you, you can check it out first.
o When co-authoring, the first save will cause document version to increase. Following saves won’t make the document version to change.
o After all authors closed their word, the version will remain the same after first time save.
o If you open it another time, and save it for the first time, the version will increase again.